Florida law requires you to obtain a Florida drivers license within 30 days of becoming a resident. If you have a drivers license from another state can visit a local DMV office to apply for your Florida license. If your out of state driving record is clean, you will not need to take any written test.
When you become a resident you have 10 days to register your out-of-state vehicle. You are considered a Florida resident when you place your children in public schools, become employed, or otherwise establish Florida residency.
Welcome to Florida Tax
To register any vehicle in Florida that does not have a Florida registration there is an initial registration fee of $100.
In addition you will pay a standard registration fee based on the vehicles weight as follows:
- $27.60 for vehicles under 2500 pounds
- $35.60 for vehicles between 2500 and 3499 pounds
- $45.60 for vehicles over 3500
Note these rates were current at the time of writing this post. Check the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles website to verify the rates.
Florida, like many other states, offers a wide variety of personalized license plates. These are available for an additional fee, check your local DMV office for the complete listing of plates.
I have to say that I have had a few occasions to go to the local office and have found the staff very well informed, helpful and courteous.